Sports News

FIFA Council makes 2030 and 2034 World Cup key decisions

The FIFA Council has made key decisions for the World Cup editions that are set to be hosted in 2030 and 2034. For starters, Morocco, Portugal, and Spain have been selected as joint bidders since they are the sole candidates. After the bidding process has successfully concluded, they will earn a spot in the 2030 tournament. Next, bids for 2034 will be invited from OFC and AFC member associations.

Also, centenary celebrations will happen in Argentina, Paraguay, and Uruguay. Special or celebratory matches will be played in these regions.

Montevideo in Uruguay will host the celebratory matches in 2030, marking a hundred years of the tournament and the council. The first such tournament was held in 1930. Gianni Infantino, the President of FIFA, has said that football is a uniting force in a divided world. Gianni added that the first three matches will be played in the stadium where the tournament began a hundred years ago.

The FIFA President has called the selection of the joint bidders a great message for tolerance, peace, and inclusion.

The bidding process for the 2030 and 2034 FIFA World Cups will be done concurrently, with association members from the OFC and AFC expected to be a part of the process. The minimum hosting requirements will remain the same as per the previously agreed terms. As of now, FIFA has approved the Bidding Regulations for the 2030 and 2034 FIFA World Cup, ensuring transparency and fairness in the selection process, including considerations related to FIFA betting. More information is expected to be rolled out in the times to come.

In a massive advancement, it has been decided by the UEFA Executive Committee to allow the participation of Russian representative youth teams in the Under-17 tournaments, men and women. The decision dates back to September 26, 2023, with the approval extending to the World Cup for the segment.

Simply put, FIFA has lifted the suspension on Russia from participating in FIFA tournaments. However, teams have been asked to play under the name of the Football Union of Russia instead of just Russia. The suspension was put in place after the Russia-Ukraine war continued. International Federations went on to suspend Russia, citing that the country was involved in an illegal war.

FIFA has confirmed that it will organize the FIFA Futsal Women’s World Cup in 2025. It will start as a standalone tournament, with 16 teams participating. The slot allotment for the same has been made public; the host country is set to have a single spot secured for the tournament.

The Under-20 Women’s World Cup in Columbia, which is scheduled to happen in 2024, will have 24 teams, an extension from 16 teams. It will commence on August 31, 2024, and end on September 22, 2024.

Key decisions ultimately pertain to FIFA World Cup 2030 and 2034 editions, with the 2030 year being celebrated for completing a hundred years of the tournament and the Council.

David Bright

David Bright joined Times of Casino as a news writer focused on the casino industry. He holds a bachelor degree in Economics and Accounting and currently contributing in-depth news articles. David writes on the casinos, gambling legislation, poker, and much more.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button