Sports News

NASCAR Releases List Of Nominees For Hall Of Fame Class 2023

NASCAR has announced nominees for the Hall of Fame Class 2023. The list includes 15 nominations comprising ten modern era nominees and five for pioneer ballot nominees, a section dedicated to those whose career started with NASCAR more than sixty years ago.

The current nominations for Hall of Fame Class 2023 are the first in two years due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

A new addition to the modern era ballot is Matt Kenseth, along with Tim Brewer. Matt Kenseth has won 39 Cup Series and the 2003 Cup Championship throughout his driving career, and Tim Brewer is a two-time Cup champion crew chief for Hall of Famers Darrell Waltrip and Cale Yarborough. Both of them are popular on some of the best nascar betting sites in the betting market.

Sam Ard has been re-introduced to the pioneer ballot to join A.J. Foyt, a legend whose career carries seven wins, including the 1972 Daytona 500. Sam Ard is a two-time champion and a great in Xfinity Series.

NASCAR has also shared five nominees for the Landmark Award. It is awarded to those who have outstandingly contributed to the sport during their career. Lesa France Kennedy is a new entrant on the list. She is the Executive Vice-Chair for NASCAR and the Granddaughter of Bill France Sr.

NASCAR published a tweet to share the announcement.

The prominent nominees are:-

  • Neil Bonnett

He was a Cup Series driver from 1973 to 1994, the year in which he attempted a comeback before dying in a terrible practice crash.

  • Tim Brewer

His career spans from 1973 to 2004 as a Cup Series crew chief.

  • Jeff Burton

Jeff Burton earned 21 career wins between 1993 and 2014. He was a runner-up in the 2000 Cup Series Championship.

  • Carl Edwards

Carl has 28 career wins from 2004 to 2016.

  • Harry Gant

Harry earned 18 wins in his career from 1973 to 1994.

  • Harry Hyde

He remains responsible for guiding Tim Richmond to seven wins in the breakout 1986 season.

  • Matt Kenseth

Matt Kenseth has a collection of 38 wins in his career from 1998 to 2020.

  • Larry Phillips

Larry Phillips was a NASCAR driver from 1960 to 2001.

  • Ricky Rudd

Ricky won the toughest race at Richmond in 1984 to contribute to career winnings of 23.

  • Kirk Shelmerdine

Kirk was Cup Series crew chief during the period ranging from 1977 to 1992.

The Pioneer Ballot includes the names of:-

  • Sam Ard

The legendary NASCAR driver earned 22 wins in his career.

  • A.J. Foyt

He remained a tough competitor from 1963 to 1994.

  • Banjo Mathews

Banjo was a car builder and a proud owner, winning more than 250 Cup Series.

  • Hershel McGriff

Hershel competed in 87 Cup Series to earn 34 career wins.

  • Ralph Moody

Ralph was an owner and mechanic and a NASCAR driver from 1956 to 1962.

Nominees for Landmark Award are:-

  • Janet Guthrie
  • Alvin Hawkins
  • Mike Helton
  • Lesa France Kennedy
  • Dr. Joseph Mattioli

The panel is scheduled to meet for voting on May 04, 2022. A total of 63 votes will be cast, including a Fan Vote. Chase Elliot, the 2020 Cup Series Champion, will feature as a one-time voter along with Kyle Larson, the defending Cup Champion.

David Bright

David Bright joined Times of Casino as a news writer focused on the casino industry. He holds a bachelor degree in Economics and Accounting and currently contributing in-depth news articles. David writes on the casinos, gambling legislation, poker, and much more.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button