Sports News

FIFA shares details about the FIFA Club World Cup 2025

The FIFA Club World Cup will happen in 2025, and the FIFA Council has shared all the details about the event. It is scheduled to start on June 15, 2025, and end on July 13, 2025. The first edition of the tournament will be hosted by the US, welcoming 32 teams to their homes, which will later be split into a total of 8 groups.

The official name for the competition is Mundial de Clubes FIFA. It will have teams from 6 confederations. A team that wins an event will earn 3 points, plus an additional 3 points for advancing to the next round. Teams drawing a match will get one point each on the table. Every group will have 4 teams, making up a total of 8 groups, from which they will compete in the Round of 16.

It has a model similar to that of the FIFA World Cup 2022, except that teams will not play football for the third spot. The play-off for the said rank has been removed, taking directly to the Finals from the Semis.

European teams have a different set of ranking methodologies. It rolls out 4 points to a team that qualifies for the group stage, 5 points if they make it to the first knockout round – Round of 16, a single point for a draw, and x2 points for a win. Also, the European teams will be credited 1 point for making progress in every stage.

The tournament dates have been confirmed, considering they align perfectly with the International Match Calendar. It means there is sufficient time for teams to manage their schedules and for players to take a break between consecutive events. However, FIFA betting sites would be functioning as usual, with data and analytics ready for every team and player.

The first edition of the global football tournament has simultaneously taken a hint from the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023.

Gianni Infantino, the President of FIFA, has said that the tournament will be a major milestone in providing clubs with a stage to prove their ability. He has appreciated all the clubs by saying they play a fundamental role in shaping the football world. Infantino is confident that the open competition will help them accelerate their efforts to make football a global phenomenon.

It was originally approved in March 2023, and the tournament is now set to happen every year starting in 2025. The FIFA Club World Cup will be pivotal in bringing out the best in every club that will be working to earn a prestigious title.

Meanwhile, FIFA has announced the appointment of Poland and Chile as hosts of FIFA youth competitions. Poland is the venue for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2026, and Chile for the FIFA U-20 World Cup 2025.

Janice Graziano

Janice has joined Times of Casino team as a casino news writer. Along with writing, she is additionally a content manager. Janice has over five years of experience in inscribing. Her zealousness for casino and online gaming draw her to casino industry. In her spare time, she relishes playing online poker games.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button