Sports News

Upcoming FIFA tournaments to look for

The most recent FIFA tournament to conclude is the FIFA Women’s World Cup on August 20, 2023. The next major global event will happen in 2026 for the men’s category. However, there is plenty of action that fans can look forward to till then. For instance, the 19th edition of the FIFA Under-17 World Cup will begin on November 10, 2023, and end on December 02, 2023.

Next will be the 20th edition of the FIFA Club World Cup from December 12, 2023, to December 22, 2023.

The Under-17 World Cup will be hosted by Indonesia, welcoming teams like Argentina, Canada, Japan, England, and France, among others, to the Asian country. A total of 24 nations have qualified for the FIFA World Cup. They will be divided into groups of four teams, making 6 groups for the league stage.

Moving forward, the top two teams from each group will contest in the Round of 16. The template that follows is the same as everyone saw in the recent FIFA Women’s World Cup – co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand. Winners will play the next knockout round, that is, Quarter-Finals, followed by Semis and Finals of the Football match. There will be an event to cement the 3rd and 4th spots on the table.

Brazil won the last tournament; however, Nigeria continues to dominate with 5 trophies to their name. It will be interesting to see how they come out on the field, for the last time they lifted the trophy was in 2015. Brazil has won the title four times, and Ghana & Mexico each have won 2 times. Best FIFA betting sites are eyeing to have Nigeria rise to the top spot once again, hopefully, to restart its streak this year.

Seven teams will land in Saudi Arabia for the Club World Cup before the Association expands to 32 teams in 2025. Seven clubs to have qualified for the tournament are Al Ittihad, Al Ahly, Leon, Auckland City, Urawa, Manchester City, and Red Diamonds.

Real Madrid won the previous tournament to break the trophy-winning streak of Chelsea. As of now, only Real Madrid has been able to win the tournament three consecutive times. It happens every year; however, the expansion will not happen until 2025. This means the next year will again see 7 teams contest for the trophy.

It is going to be a tough job to stand up to the hype that the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 created. Spain won the title by 1-0 against England, becoming the 5th team to lift the title and the first time for the nation to realize its dream. Olga Carmona was the lone scorer of the event. She found the net in the 29th minute, and then the side continued to defend their post.

England found it difficult to circumvent the defensive line-up and Coll’s keeping.

November 2023 will once again set the tunes on fire as the FIFA Under-17 World Cup begins, followed by the FIFA Club World Cup.

John Scott

John Scott joined the Times of Casino’s team as a news writer. He previously worked with foremost publications as an intern. He holds bachelor of journalism degree and more than three years of experience of writing. In his free time, he enjoys travelling different places.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button